It’s [Not] A Small World After All…

Boonsboro

 

We live in a small town in Western Maryland. Population less than 4,000. Crime rate? So low its practically not even measurable. The photo above shows pretty much all of the town. Not exactly your booming metropolis. But our little town has kindness, and smiles, and charm. If you want to hear about the town news just stop in the gas station and pretend to stare at the snacks. You’ll learn a lot more than you bargained for.

Sometimes I wonder what it was like to live in a world without information and news so readily available. I’m talking the times of Paul Revere when you had to send someone out on horseback to share information. I’m pretty certain people in Texas didn’t find out news from Montana for weeks, months or ever. The world USED to be small.

One of our biggest jobs as parents is to keep our children safe. Unfortunately, we live in a scary world. Is my little town scary? No, not really. Is the county we live in crime littered? Nope. Not by any means. But every day we are inundated with bad news, scary news, and stories of awful things happening in places far enough from our home that we are not directly impacted. And I am grateful for that.

My son Ryan is only 7 months old. The best parts of his day are getting something delicious into his mouth on his own, pooping, and seeing me when he wakes up from a nap. He is still too small to be impacted by things like the news, radio, internet, etc. But he will be eventually, and I don’t think I’m prepared to keep him safe from it all. How do you protect your child from information, images, stories and the like that are undoubtedly going to cause stress, anxiety, fear and lots of hard to answer questions? I’m quite aware that one cannot do so completely, but I sure would like to. I personally have made it a point to not watch the news. To not read the news. In fact, I get most of my news second hand from Facebook status updates or my husband telling me about something random he read on Yahoo! News. If there is something I am interested in learning more about, I will seek it out. And you know what? I’m happier!

I wish I could keep our world small. Do I wish any harm on those impacted by things that are distant from me and disconnected from my day to day life? No. Absolutely not. But I do wish I wasn’t so overly exposed to it. And I am not ready to raise a child who is so overly exposed to it.

 

 

